Canyons District's COVID-19 Action Plan, Updates | Read More >

What is the SCC?

Serving on our School Community Council is a wonderful way for parents to be actively involved in their children’s education. Each year, the school receives a distribution of funds from Utah’s School LAND Trust Program, and it’s the Council’s job to prioritize how these funds will be used to address the school’s greatest academic needs. School Community Councils hold elections once a year to fill open seats, and are comprised of parents and school employees, including the principal. Parents make up the majority of the Council, outnumbering employees by at least two. Working together, Council members review school data, identify school needs, establish school goals (or a success plan), and allocate LAND Trust funds toward accomplishing those goals. School Community Councils also discuss school digital and safety plans, and throughout the year, serve as an advisory group to the school principal, district administrators, and the Canyons Board of Education. In this role, the Council fosters communication between the school and the community on local school issues, and is a vital partner in fulfilling Canyons’ college- and career-readiness mission. Resources to assist Council members in fulfilling their roles and responsibilities can be found on Canyons District’s website.

Interested in joining the SCC?  Contact Tom Sherwood: tom.sherwood@canyonsdistrict.org

Funding Distribution History

LAND Trust Funds TSSA Funds
2020-2021$263,508 $250,235
2019-2020$239,014
2018-2019$219,557
2017-2018$189,070
2016-2017$152,151

Please contact the SCC Chair at BrightonSCC@gmail.com with any items you would like to formally address the council about. This must be done at least nine days prior to the meeting date, per our Bylaws. 

2020-2021 Council Members

Please feel free to contact any member of the council with items you would like to have presented at the next meeting.

Lisa Devashrayee - Chair (Parent)
cdevashrayee@hotmail.com
Lisa Prudden - Vice-Chair (Employee)
lisa.prudden@canyonsdistrict.org
Tom Sherwood - Principal
tom.sherwood@canyonsdistrict.org
Cindy England - Parent
cenglandmail@gmail.com
Debbie Durtschi - Parent
ddurtschi@gmail.com
Kim Steenblik - Parent
supermomofsix@msn.com
Lois Kristensen - Parent
lois@kristensen.ws
Katie Tatton - Parent
katiebtatton@gmail.com
Laura Bischoff Garcia - Parent
laura@cloudg.com
Gerry Hassell - Parent
gwhassell@gmail.com
Cheryl Simmons - Parent
cheryl.hersh@gmail.com
Lisa Hill - Parent
lisahill321@gmail.com
Julie Clawson - Parent
clawsonjulie@gmail.com
Mila Gleason - Parent
milagleason@gmail.com
Stefanie Ripplinger - Parent
rippengo13@gmail.com
Marci Cardon - Parent
calebandmarci@gmail.com
Cheri Hawes - Parent
cherilhawes@gmail.com
LeRoy Vea - Parent
ltvea@comcast.net
Catherine Bates - Employee
catherine.bates@canyonsdistrict.org
Kellie Clark - Employee
kellie.clark@canyonsdistrict.org
Marielle Rawle - Secretary (Employee)
marielle.rawle@canyonsdistrict.org
Aaron Hadfield - Employee
aaron.hadfield@canyonsdistrict.org
Ernest Pulliam - Employee
ernest.pulliam@canyonsdistrict.org
Tabbie Mayne - Employee
tabatha.mayne@canyonsdistrict.org
Paul Winkelman - Counselor (Employee)
paul.winkelman@canyonsdistrict.org
Lindsay Christensen - Employee
lindsay.christensen@canyonsdistrict.org
Sybrina Ely - PTSA Rep (non-voting)
PTSABrighton@gmail.com

2020-2021 Annual Plans & Reports

Click here to access translatable, accessible LAND Trust Plans & Reports.

2020-2021 Meeting Schedule, Minutes and Agendas

The School Community Council meets the second Wednesday of each month at 3:30pm in the media center. Exceptions include: December and the summer months.

Due to current COVID guidelines during the 2020-2021 school year, we determine each month if we are meeting in person or digitally. If you would like to attend or listen in on a meeting, please contact us at brightonscc@gmail.com.We will let you know how/where we are meeting that month. If it is being held digitally a link can be sent for you to join in.

Translate »