Canyons District's COVID-19 Action Plan, Updates | Read More >

What is the SCC?

Serving on our School Community Council is a wonderful way for parents to be actively involved in their children’s education. Each year, the school receives a distribution of funds from Utah’s School LAND Trust Program, and it’s the Council’s job to prioritize how these funds will be used to address the school’s greatest academic needs. School Community Councils hold elections once a year to fill open seats, and are comprised of parents and school employees, including the principal. Parents make up the majority of the Council, outnumbering employees by at least two. Working together, Council members review school data, identify school needs, establish school goals (or a success plan), and allocate LAND Trust funds toward accomplishing those goals. School Community Councils also discuss school digital and safety plans, and throughout the year, serve as an advisory group to the school principal, district administrators, and the Canyons Board of Education. In this role, the Council fosters communication between the school and the community on local school issues, and is a vital partner in fulfilling Canyons’ college- and career-readiness mission. Resources to assist Council members in fulfilling their roles and responsibilities can be found on Canyons District’s website.

Interested in joining the SCC?  Contact Tom Sherwood:

2020-2021 TSSP Funds:


2020-2021 LAND Trust Funds:


Please contact the SCC Chair at with any items you would like to formally address the council about. This must be done at least nine days prior to the meeting date, per our Bylaws. 

2020-21 Meeting Schedule

The School Community Council meets the second Wednesday of each month at 3:30pm in the media center. Exceptions include: December and the summer months.

Meeting dates for 2020-21 School Year:

 Sept. 9th, 2020 at 3:30pm

Oct 7th, 2020 at 3:30pm

Nov 11th, 2020 at 3:30pm

Jan 13th, 2020 at 3:30pm


Exceptions include: Oct meeting date. Usually no meetings in December and the summer months

Feb 10th, 2020 at 3:30pm

March 10th, 2020 at 3:30pm

April 14th,2020 at 3:30pm

May 12th 2020 at 3:30pm

2020-2021 Agendas, Meetings and Reports

Translate »